TNTJ: What’s Your Dream Job?

The guys over at TNTJ have a blog post idea – and a good one it is too; tell us your dream job in journalism.

Sometimes I think I already have my dream job, except for being able to do journalism myself.  I am a high school journalism teacher, as you may already know if you read my blog.  I teach in a mid-sized high school and am the sole journalism teacher at my campus.  I teach it all from video to print and web in between.  I really enjoy my job most every day.  I like to teach and share journalistic skills with my students.

But if I could do any other job, it would probably be to work at a small college doing the exact same thing I do now, only with the ability to work for a publication on the side and produce a story or two a week.  I would be able to teach, only with a smaller load and be a working journalist too.

I’m not sure the position exists, but if it did it would be the only one that could tempt me away from my current job.

2 Comments

  1. Oh, THIS is my dream job, and I’ve had a few spectacular jobs! I came to Scholastic Journalism after another career in journalism & politics. 2 major dailies, an internship in New York, and 6 years on Capitol Hill, plus I did time as a quasi-lobbyist, too. I’ve been to every continent except Antarctica, too. But teaching my High School Cherubs is refreshing, invigorating, exciting, and ever-changing. There’s none of that cynical, “real world” quality about it, which is such a positive!

    BTW, it’s time for our Silly Sunday Sweepstakes! Gotta good one for ya, so please come on over!

  2. Your job sounds wonderful! I was a journalism student in high school and I was sad to see the student paper fold shortly after I left. If no one is teaching journalism to new generations, who will carry the torch for us when we’re gone?


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers