Cool Links #25: Silver Edition

As I creep towards my blog’s seconds anniversary, I have hit the silver anniversary post of Cool Links.  Yay Me!  I’m also getting closer to 400 posts and have passed the 50,000 visits marks.  But that celebration is still a month and a half away.

So let the links begin!

1) RTNDF has a really good page with nine lessons for Broadcasting ranging from writing and editing to live shots and promotions.

2)

Train Horns

Created by Train Horns

3) Need a free photo for your web project or online newspaper?  Morguefile has ample section of  free photos .

4) This one is too much fun.  TV Weather guy doesn’t realize his green tie is worth the price of admission on the news that night.

5) The Online Journalism Blog has posted several lessons for online journalism including how to blog, create content for the web and how to twitter.

6) Last Sunday CBS News had a tremendous piece on the artist Shepard Fairey and his struggle with the AP over the fair use of a photograph in the iconic Obama Hope posters.

7) I have been trying to find a good tool for story board creation for a long time.  I’m hoping that this will be the one – Pixton is actually a comic strip creator, but I think it will also work well for creating story boards.

8 ) Mindy McAdams is continuing her considerable series of RGMP posts for online journalism skills.  The newest one is how to add photos to your blog.

9) Need stupendous Open Source designs for your newest web project, then OSWD had lots of pre-designed web templates.

10) Newspapers need to do more News You Can Use to drive traffic to their sites.  This incredible, searchable Stimulus Watch web site is exactly the kind of real journalism people want to see, but don’t.

I’ve also updated my Broadcasting, Newspaper and Photojournalism Syllabii.  Check them out.

Update:  Thanks to the makers of Toondoo, I think I’ve found an easier and better cartoon creator to make storyboards with.  Here’s my first attempt.

\Storyboard\

5 Comments

  1. Hi teachj,

    Nice list of links!

    We’d like to invite you to try ToonDoo, easy-to-use an online comic strip creator that is currently being used creatively by many schools and educators.

    With ToonDoo, students can easily create comic strips without having to draw and express themselves on a variety of topics. There are loads of inbuilt characters available at ToonDoo and even the ability to import your own images from anywhere on the web. Published comics can easily be embedded in blogs and websites or saved / printed directly from the site. Students can also combine individual strips into a book.

    ToonDoo comes from Jambav, an educational entertainment platform for children of all abilities and ages. We’re also offering exclusive private domains for schools and educators as this minimizes the risk of inappropriate content.

    Please do check it out and tell us what you think. We would love to hear from you!

    thanks,

    Meera
    ToonDudette from http://www.jambav.com/

  2. I actually passed the teen audio test. What a shockeroo! Thanks for tuning in to Sx3…it’s a blast, ain’t it?

  3. I’d have to say that I’m extremely grateful for these links and this blog in general. They have been amazingly helpful as we’ve gone from the print newspaper to our news website… I’m always feeling behind the technology curve, and these days I feel lucky just to have time to edit papers…

    If anyone is interested, this is our site:

    http://www.ops.org/high/benson/news

    – We’re still trying to figure things out!

    • All I can say is thank you. There are days when I wonder if I’m writing only to talk to myself. I appreciate it when I get positive feedback more than you know. Keep up the struggle and remember we’re all in it together, even if we are all separated by physical locations. This is our big yearbook deadline push week. I hope we make it.

  4. Hey – no problem. Blogs are tough… I look at all the work you’ve done here, and now I’m beginning to wonder how I can also give back… how I can share what we’ve learned and help out those who are struggling. I often feel pretty isolated in my building – no one really knows what goes on, but they sure complain if we screw up our spelling.

    We’ll talk with you later. Good luck on the deadline push. We had our big one a few weeks ago.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers