Cool Links #90: The One About Memorial Day 2010

As you may know from reading this blog from time to time, my father, grandfather, and several uncles were all military vets.  My family has a short history in America – four generations, but we have a strong history of military service.  So, it was instilled in me at a young age to show a heartfelt thanks to those who are and were the guardians of our freedoms.  This is especially true for those who gave their lives to defend our country.

As a teacher, I now have several former students who are serving in various branches of our armed services.  Thankfully, none are currently serving in a war zone.  I do want to send out my thoughts and prayers for all the young men and women who are in harm’s way this Memorial Day, they are somebody’s former student.  I am proud of all of the kids who have chosen to serve.

Now, on to the links.

1 – The end of the year is a time for reflection and planning.  Just for TV Teachers has a great and humorous list of things he likes and doesn’t like.

2 – Whenever you are creating a web page, you must wonder – what will it look like on a ____ (computer model), using _____ (operating system) in the ______ (browser).  Hongkiat has a list of tools that are useful for testing Cross-Browser compatibility.

3 – On a related note, many people new to creating web sites want to learn how to get a domain name as well as hosting for the site.  All Web Design Info has all the answers for these questions.

4 – If every journalist out there wrote about stories like this one, we’d have no trouble getting people to read newspapers/magazines.  This is the kind of journalism that people want to read.

5 – The digital Photography School has two related posts on understanding how the camera takes good photos – the first is about the exposure triangle and the second is your camera explained in plain English.

6 – I wish we could access Google Docs at my school, I’d love to use this technique to speed up the clean up of our yearbook index.

7 – Advancing the Story has 10 Tips to Help Get a TV News Job.  Most of these tips can benefit any journalist at any time.  The most difficult one: Tip #1. Previous professional experience.

8 – Thanks to Aaron Manfull at jeadigitalmedia.org for mentioning my site in his post 5 Ways to Learn without Taking Over Your Student’s Site.

9 – If you are like me, your journalism program is run on a shoestring budget and you have to save money wherever you can – like group photos.  I take them myself.  dPS has five tips for taking better group photos.

10 – Mindy McAdams, as always, makes online simple.  She wants us all to understand HTML 5 and some of the basic tags that will make life easier.

11 – Need something to read this summer?  Then fire up your RSS reader and check out these 100 Teachers Who Blog – including my pals The Scholastic Scribe and DKZody.   I’ll be adding MrTeachBad to my RSS reader.

12 – This is a great idea.  How to get your camera back when it was lost. I plan to do something similar with our photographers next year.  Great way to keep up with who took the photos.

13 – The 10,000 Words Blog has a list of 3 Important Skills for any journalist.  Most important – Math!

Have a great weekend and for those of you who are still not done with school yet – the light is at the end of the tunnel, and so are we.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers