YLYB #115: Bills, Bills, Bills

Paying for the book is always a struggle at my school.  I know at some schools, yearbooks nearly sell themselves.  This is not the case at my school.  Being a Title I school, more than 80 percent of our students qualify for free or reduced price lunch.  This means that luxury items, like a yearbook are, well, a luxury.

This is especially true when they cost more than $70 each.

We are struggling to sell more books, but it seems like we can’t make a dent in the number of books we sell each year.  Of course, with the potential for school funding cuts in my state, school districts are putting more pressure than ever on yearbooks to break even or even make a profit.

Now, I’m not a marketing major, but I’m not sure how we are supposed to sell more books during a recession? We are trying everything we know and we have had more pre-orders this year, but I’m not sure how we are going to sell all the books we need to to break even.  Any ideas, pass them along.

 

1 Comment

  1. I had no idea yearbooks were so expensive now! Mine was $12, but that was 30 years ago.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers