In The Beginning

In the beginning there was only writing and it was good. OK, it was never like that. As a journalism teacher there was never just one thing to teach. We have to teach photography, layout, design, computer skills, advertising, marketing, video, editing, voice presence, interviewing, web design, media law, graphic design, lighting and much, much more.

I am a teacher of journalism and technology. I am certified in each by my state and hold the Journalism Educators Association certification of CJE. I teach or have taught basic journalism, photojournalism, yearbook, newspaper, broadcast journalism, media studies, web design, desktop publishing and video technology. I worked as a news intern at a small town daily paper for one summer. I was the sports editor and managing editor of my college newspaper. I was the sports editor of my college yearbook (now defunct). I worked for nearly five years for two TV stations as a production assistant, camera operator, master controller, promotions director, show director and show producer. I spent nearly three years as at a junior college working with kids at their PBS station. I have been a high school teacher since 1995.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

