Orwell, Dystopia and the Media

Today I saw the creepiest video – actually a flash movie production created by Robin Sloan, formerly of the Poynter Institute for something called the Museum of Media History, which I’m pretty sure is a construct of this video.

The video tells the story of how Google and Amazon destroy the current media establishment by creating an all encompassing online networked media that tailors all information to suit the user.

It is definitely worth the 8 minutes to watch it and it is food for thought for journalists, journalism teachers and media teachers.

Ironic that I’m using WordPress (a blog similar to, but better than blogger) and YouTube to create this post.  I guess I’m just as much a part of the “end of journalism” as anyone else.  I don’t know if it will get this bad, but I do worry about it.

Mr. C

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

