Vanishing Yearbooks

There was a good, but sad article in the Houston Chronicle yesterday about how Facebook and Myspace are  killing yearbooks.  But I think it is more that students feel they can make their own memories.  Cameras used to be expensive, so was film and developing.  Now digital cameras are relatively cheap and – well that’s it they are cheap.  Most students have one.  They take pictures of their own friends and – yes the internet hurts too because they can store photos online at places like social sites or Flickr, etc.  So, I think it is the digital camera more than the web sites that are killing yearbooks.

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for pointing me to this story. It made me feel somewhat better when I read of the Texas school with a population of 2400 who only sells 300 books. We have 2700 and right now I have sold 240, the lowest number ever. However, kids are coming in daily asking to buy a book at my highest rate–$85. I’m hoping the economic stimulus package will give some of our poorer kids funds to use for this.

    I teach at a very historical school, our yearbooks go back to 1896, and each one is a historical piece of the city. At one time I had thought we too should stop producing a yearbook, but I now realize that can’t happen. Almost every week I get calls and emails asking for something from an old yearbook. I also sell the old books and can make a couple of thousand $$ every year from that.

    I just pulled the ’09 book from the vault–the 1909 book that is–to show my students. It helps them to understand their role in the pages of history.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

