These Are A Few Of My Favorite Tools…

This weekend I have to give a 50 minute presentation to a group of journalism teachers about being a wired journalist.  I wanted to have a resource I could send them in one location.  This is that page.

Web Tools

Browsers – Firefox, Safari

Audio Editors: Audacity,

Video Editors: Windows MovieMaker,

Online Photo Editors:  21 Editors via 10,000 Words,

Music/Video Players – iTunes, Quicktime Pro ($29.99), Perian (mac), Wimpy FLV player,

Online Tools – Plugin Checker, Flash Player, Java,

Web Page Design: NVU/Kompozer, Seamonkey,

Flash Video Capture: TubeTV (mac),

Screencasting:  Screencast-o-matic, Camtwist (mac),

Blogging

Blogs:  WordPress, Blogger,

Image Hosting: Flickr, Photobucket,

File Hosting: MediaFire,

Video Hosting:  YouTube, TeacherTube

Social Networking

Microblogging: Twitter,

Totally Social: Myspace, Facebook,

Professional Social Networks:  Wired Journalists, Classroom 2.0,

Shopping

Books:  Amazon.com, TeachJ Store, JEA bookstore,

Photo/Video: B&H Photo Video,

Just Journalism

Publication Writing/Editing/Organization:  Newsroom Director ($139/year), ASNE Online Newspaper ($50 one time fee),

Printing:  Newspapers (J&S Printing), Magazine (MagCloud), T-Shirts (CafePress), Photos (Printroom) $99/year,

Curriculum

Web Design:  Access IT (Univ. of Wash.),

Journalism Tools

Broadcasting:  HowJSay,

Journalism:  NewsU, Newsroom 101,

Visual Journalism:  Shortcourses,

2 Comments

  1. I would love to monitor your site and feature good posts such as this, but I do not see an RSS feed or a way to e-mail you. Am I missing something?

  2. WordPress blogs have RSS 2.0 built in – I use Firefox for my RSS feeds and if you do, there should be a blue icon in the URL bar with a star next to it (Firefox 2.0 or 3.0). Click on the blue RSS icon and now you have a Firefox feed. I also added an RSS link at the top left of my blog for people who use other readers. I hope this helps. Thanks for wanting to follow my blog. If it doesn’t work, let me know.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

