Fighting The Good Fight

My father was career Army.  He joined the military in 1968 and did a tour in Vietnam during the Tet Offensive.  We were lucky to be able to travel to Europe and many places in the US due to his service.  My uncle, dad’s cousin, served in the Air Force during Vietnam too.  My mom’s sister’s husband served in Korea and both my grandfathers were in the Navy during WWII.

What I’m slowly getting at is that I was taught from an early age to respect those who have served.  But I was also taught that the reason for their service was not the government, but the people.  They served to protect the rights of the people and self-government, what we commonly call democracy.  And that includes first and foremost the first amendment.

I bring this up for two reasons.  First, one of my fellow j-teachers and bloggers is in the middle of a bit of a crisis.  An administrator at her school is hassling her and telling her that video is not journalism, so not protected by her state’s student media protections.  Please visit Cindy’s blog and give her the encouragment and weapons she needs to fight this.  Let her know we’re out here and that we can and will help her.

Second, when I was at the ASNE workshop, the Student Press Law Center gave us a great presentation on our rights as journalists and more importantly our STUDENT’S rights.  They do NOT leave their Constitutional rights at the school house door, no matter what some administrator with an over inflated ego thinks.  There ARE limits to Hazelwood.

I know that I have to toughen up myself.  No one said that this job would be easy.  But we dishonor those who wear the uniform and risk their lives for our freedoms if we are not willing to fight for them ourselves.  Freedom is not free.  My father taught me that.

2 Comments

  1. Teach…

    Thanks for the encouragement. I was just lamenting the waste of time needed to deal with all of this. Just need to get up the energy to tell him to back off…and probably will need to tell him I am going to the school board to complain if he can’t follow the Code of Education and school district policies.

    And I do relate to your last paragraph – my middle daughter is currently in the Navy, just out of boot camp. She called me Friday to discuss setting up her will. She knows she will serve time in the Middle East. As a mother I fear for her (she will be a firefighter and damage control expert), but I am also so proud I cry when I think of her and all of the others who dedicate their lives to what is nothing more than an idea. Freedom.

    PS – how the heck old are you? I was 18 when your dad was in VietNam.

  2. I’m 40, which means you are almost my Dad’s age. He was 21 when he went to ‘nam.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

