Put On Your Earbuds And Crank Up Your iPod

I actually promised this post more than a week ago…Sorry.  Here it is, better late than never.  I’m not used to writing this blog on deadline.  When you are your own boss, you set your own schedule.

This post is for all those teachers who attended my “Wired Journalism Teachers” session at Texas A&M.

I am addicted to podcasts.  Most of the ones I like are audio only, but I do like a couple of video podcasts too.  All the podcasts I listen to or watch are available from iTunes, but I will also include the direct links to their websites where you can download them for a non-Apple mp3 player.

Photography –

Tips From The Top Floor – by “German Guy” Chris Marquardt – this is hands down the best hour each week on photography.  He sometimes comes out more than once a week.

This Week in Photography – a cast of several photographers and industry insiders geek out each week about photography.  Sometimes it is really helpful, but sometimes too geeky.

Education –

GEEK!ED! – This is a technology education podcast put out by four teachers who give great tech ed ideas and FAQs.

Grammar Girl – Can grammar actually be fun and interesting?  It can if Mignon Fogarty has her way.  Grammar Girl is witty, informative and brief.  Just like broccoli, you should try it!

Wicked Decent Learning – Two teachers from Maine who podcast weekly about education – even through the summer, or as they would say summa.  Great work guys – this is my new favorite blog.

Video/Film –

The Grip Guide – Brent Bye gives you a behind the scenes look at behind the scenes on a movie set.  Great info for teaching the technical side of video.

Izzy Video – This video cast by Israel Hymen is a great resource for those learning the basics of video production.

Video Maker Presents – A really good how-to video cast from VideoMaker magazine.  I liked the podcast so much, I started taking the magazine.

Technology –

Leo Laporte – Leo The Tech Guy lives online at Leoville.  He is the guy who knows about technology – as he says anything with a chip in it.  Windows, Macs, phones, video cameras, digital cameras, etc.

WebbAlert – Morgan Webb is the engaging host of this nearly daily video blog about the tech industry.  ou can’t teach in a tech field like photography, video or web design and not keep up with tech.

Extra –

TED Talks – TED stands for Technology Education and Design.  It is just an outstanding forum for brilliant people to discuss the coolest stuff for 30 min.  Cherry pick the good talks.

I personally like to listen to a blog on my commute in and back each day – nearly 20 minutes each way and on the treadmill for my daily 30 minutes.  That is an hour a day or more if traffic is really bad.  I also grab my iPod if I’m going to run errands, sit in the doctors office or any other time I need entertainment.  Now it is not wasted time.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

