Can Kids Teach Themselves Using IT?

This is a great video, with bad sound.  But the premise of this TED talk is that kids can self organize to educate themselves.  I am presently trying to test that premise in my advanced journalism classes this year.  I’ve decided to do what a great number of really good educators before me have been brave enough to try – let the kids run their own publications.  They are 95 percent in control, and I am only 5 percent in control – mostly standards, ethical and otherwise.  But this video is really great.

2 Comments

  1. This, basically, is the way I run my high school journalism classes. I’ve set up the framework, have the rules, the ethics codes, and of course, the kids have the background because they all have me for Journalism 1. Then, once they get to newspaper & yearbook, they are on their own. Or at least free to make their own mistakes. This is where I take over as “adviser” instead of teacher. It’s worked really well–I’m in my 15th year here!

  2. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

