Gender, Media and Recruiting

I stumbled upon my own post again today about boys, girls and the media.  The year is only half over, but I’ve seen some profound changes in my classroom.

One of the most profound is that after last year, I worked very hard to find and recruit several good, male students into my yearbook and newspaper classes.  This has made a huge difference in what was previously a testosterone free zone.  Just having a few guys around has really changed how boys outside the class view it.

On the other side of the equation, I’m still working hard to recruit girls into web design and broadcast journalism.  Web Design has more girls than ever, but broadcast journalism’s number of girls has dwindled to an all time low.  I guess we always need something to worry about at recruiting time, which is coming up soon.

But I do think it is important to try to keep recruiting groups of students who are not represented in your publication or media class.  These classes should be broad enough to encompass wide spectrums of the school population to ensure good coverage and a variety of perspectives.

2 Comments

  1. This is HUGE at my site. We are a very diverse school, but our journalism program doesn’t reflect that diversity. Last year I made a concerted effort to recruit males onto the yearbook staff and managed to get three really good ones (which made the staff nearly balanced), but they left after one quarter. This is a good reminder for me to talk to other teachers about our talent pool and recruit.

  2. Both my newspaper and yearbook classes are predominantly girls, but there are way more boys in newspaper than in yearbook. Last year, one of my yearbook classes had only one boy! I think they perceive it as “too girly” a pursuit! BTW, don’t forget Sx3 tomorrow…we’ll be in an Inaugural Kind of Mood!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

