Missing Arizona

Exactly one year ago today, I was in Arizona attending the ASNE Reynold Journalism Fellowship.  This was probably the best professional development of my teaching career.  Not only was it the best instruction I ever got in both journalism and education, but I met a great group of people that I still keep in touch with and both like and admire.

Beautiful Tempe, Ariz.

Beautiful Tempe, Ariz.

But I have been able to feel like a part of this year’s program by reading their blog posts.  It looks like Steve Elliot, the excellent director of the ASU Reynolds program and the head of their incredible new Chronikte News Center, has set up a blog for the new batch of recruits. I wish them well and hope that their experience is at least half as good as what we got last summer.

I wish we could all go back and do it again.  I know that I’ve learned so much by trying to put into practice the vast wealth of information, skills and techniques that I learned there.  I also hope that they take advantage of having one of the best teachers I’ve ever met with them once again – Alan Weintraut of Annandale High School.  He was one of the best resources and one of the best friends we could have possibly had during our two weeks there.

I can only say that I will jealously follow the ASNE blog as often as it is updated.  I’ve put it in my RSS reader and hope to see updates every day.  That way I can at least imagine that I’m back at ASU in beautiful Arizona.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment