Jerry McGuire Moment

Today was a very hard day for me.  I had a difficult conversation with my yearbook rep. that got a little heated.  My editor was in the classroom and even she said it was loud.

But basically it came down to the fact that we have been selling fewer and fewer yearbooks for the last three years and are now $4,000 in the hole.  And that’s when my rep. hit me with one of the best moments in the movie Jerry McGuire.  Jerry invites his last client to his house and is client tells him that he won’t sign the horrible contract his team has offered him.  Then comes the line, delivered perfectly by Renée Zellweger – she says, “He’s busting his ass and working for you for FREE!”

That was hard.  And I know it is true.  My rep. doesn’t make enough from my account to matter.  We don’t sell enough books.  But, as I told her, I feel that the company needs to do more to incorporate technology better, reach out to small schools and minority schools more.  She agreed with me to a certain extent.

And in the end we agreed that there are ways that the company can help more and that there may be ways for us to sell more yearbooks.  We are going to try an all color book this year and lets hope it gives us the spark we need to pick up sales.

Honestly, this was one of the hardest things I’ve had to do as a journalism teacher.  I’m not one to enjoy conflict and this was hard.  I really hate dealing with the business side of what we do.  I hate dealing with the bills and making money so we can do journalism.  I know it is a necessary evil, but sometimes it seems like it is just plain evil.

I still have to present the plan to my principal and see if he agrees to it, and then we’ll see what happens next.  I just hope that, like the movie, we can have a happy ending.

1 Comment

  1. Me too…$4000 still owed on last year’s book. This year’s staff is pretty miffed. “Why do we have to pay for last year’s mistakes?”

    We are looking at a size 7 book, probably 126 pages. When I started, 8 years ago, we were size 8, 240 page book. We only do 32 pages of color and we may not even have that this year. Out of a student body of 2700, I can safely sell 200 books. Pretty sad story.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

