YLYB #8: Yearbook Company Rep. Visit

I had my second visit with my new yearbook company rep. today.  If you are new to the yearbook thing, your yearbook company (there are four/five main ones Jostens, Taylor, Herff Jones, Walsworth and Friesens) should provide you with a representative (sales rep.) who’s job it is to help you get the book done on time and under budget.

Not all reps. are good at those two things.  I’ve been lucky to have three reps. who have all done a good job and cared about my business.  It honestly doesn’t matter which company you are with, demand good service and prompt responses to your questions.  But I digress.

I met with my rep today, and it was a good visit.  She had good news for me on my 2011 book budget and some great ideas to help us try to sell more ads and books.  We met for about an hour and we set some goals, signed the 2011 paperwork and set a date for her to come back to work with the kids.

I’ve learned (it only took 15 years) that I don’t know it all.  I’m not good at everything – sales being the lowest on the totem pole.  Make sure you lean on your rep. when it comes to your weak areas.  When I started as an advisor, I barely knew how to do a yearbook and I leaned on my first rep. heavily.  Over the years, my needs have changed and I have learned to ASK my rep. to HELP me because I can’t do it all.

I also found out that they didn’t kill the newspaper class that one of the English teachers is going to start this year.  So far, there are zero students in that class.  But they are giving her time to recruit.

4 Comments

  1. My rep is a sweetheart but he will have a hard year with the new adviser. Demands already. I never made demands. I met my deadlines and was super nice. Sure helped when we couldn’t pay our bills.

    • Yeah, making demands is not the way to win friends and influence people. Getting mean with your rep. is not a good idea. Telling them how they can help you – sure. Demanding things – not so cool.

  2. I appreciate your thoughts about asking for help. I’m sorry to say that I’m just a mediocre yearbook adviser and thank goodness I only do middle school book now b/c I’m okay with that. (I have MUCH more pressure in my job as English teacher.) The longer I do this, the more I realize I could and should be better, and last year when I was overwhelmed, I called upon my reps (it’s a team thing) to help me, and they were WONDERFUL! They saved my bacon several times last year–and they did it so cheerfully! I am not sure what their job description is, and they are the first reps I’ve ever had that were any kind of useful, but I do appreciate that help is there!

    • I think it’s too much to ask of an English teacher, on top of the testing requirements, to take on yearbook. I thought it worked well in the business department but I was told it was only supposed to be taught by English or art teacher. Guess the business teachers are too dumb! Funny, but that’s my first job out of college–working for a magazine publisher.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

