YLYB #19: Student Job Listing: Photographer

A fellow adviser asked me earlier this year, why I don’t post a syllabus on my web site for Advanced Yearbook.  The answer is that every year, every group of kids is different.  So is what you need to teach in order to get the book finished.  Some years I’ve had great, experienced photographers who can shoot anything, with little or no notice.  Not this year.

I need photographers.  It looks like I’m going to have 3-4 kids who “want” to shoot photos.  Only one is experienced.  None of them seem like they will be extra reliable or super enthusiastic.

Today, I asked, “Who wants to take pictures at the pep rally tomorrow?” and got a bunch of blank looks back.  I might as well asked, “Who wants homework?”  We may be in trouble on the photo front.

Being a yearbook photographer is an investment in time and effort.  It’s not a glamorous job.  It often means hauling moderately heavy equipment in hot, humid or wet conditions on Friday nights and Saturday mornings, while their peers are out having fun or sleeping in.  I’m really hoping my new recruits (Intro to Yearbook kids) will want to jump in and shoot some pictures.

4 Comments

  1. How can anyone not DESPERATELY want to be a photog?

    • I think that way now, but I remember wanting to ONLY be a writer when I was in college. I took the photo class because it was required. But I’ve learned that I am a visual journalist first and foremost. My verbal storytelling skills fall short of my video and photo skills. Ironic.

  2. I got a camera at about age 11 or 12 and never looked back. I cried when the photo classes were full when I hit community college – the professor took pity on me and over the next two years I took in excess of 40 units from him – every class he offered and some twice.
    I realize not every student can be hooked – but once hooked, it becomes a lifetime passion. (hope you find your passionate few this year)

    • For me it was video classes. I took one in high school and was hooked. We took a trip to a real TV station and I knew that I wanted to work in one. But I have come to enjoy photography just as much. Both are fun and share the same basic principles.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

