YLYB #24: Information Underload

This school year has been like living in a slow drip coffee pot that doesn’t have anywhere near enough water in it.  Information is the coffee of a school, and we being kept in the dark.  The new administrative team has been slow to give out information and everything else.

We are now in the third week of school and I am out of AA batteries, we still don’t have a campus phone list and I know we’re going to have to reschedule individual photo day until we can order the new backdrops and backup flash bulbs.  It has been a death by a thousand small cuts.  It’s the little things that we all need to do our job.  The answers are “not yet,” “come back later,” and “we can’t say.”

This makes it hard to plan curriculum that is gear/technology dependent.  I’ve been told, just order what you need and we’ll figure it out later.  But that is not realistic.  I need a lot of things and I don’t even know how much I have in my budget.  I’m going to need money later too.  So, how do I know how much to spend now?  I don’t.

I’ve always believed that it is my job to be a faithful steward of the funds granted to me by the district.  That money comes from the taxpayers in my community (I’m one of them) and they want to get their money’s worth.  I also believe that it is my job to get the tools my students need to learn.  So, I must maximize the effectiveness of my spending.  I can’t do that if I don’t even know how much I have to spend.

I hope that next week brings some illumination to this well of darkness and maybe we’ll even get a campus phone list.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

