YLYB #48: Second Place

Most of my yearbook kids this year seem to put yearbook in second place when it comes to activities.  They almost all have something else that they place a higher priority on.   And our commitment level or lack thereof is really showing it.

I try to be understanding, and also remember that I myself participated in more than one activity in high school.  But I also did my best to give each one a full level of commitment.  They want to be on yearbook staff without actually doing any yearbook work – or at least that is how it seems.  There is also a distinct lack of desire to lead.  They don’t want to be in charge of anything or responsible for it either.  It is mildly frightening.

I’m open to suggestions from anyone out there.

2 Comments

  1. I had nine years of this. Maybe, each year, I would have one or two kids who were really devoted to yearbook. The remainder would tell me they had a life elsewhere. They couldn’t drive, didn’t have a car, had to be at home to take care of siblings or elderly family members, or just didn’t want to go to any school activities. Only one quarter of the school population was involved in anything.

    • This is par for the course for me too, but usually I have that core of 3-4 kids who are the heart and soul of the book. They are the ones who get the others to show up. They call them on Friday nights, they remind them about photo assignments, etc. I usually have 2-3 hard core photographers too. This year that core is hollow. I think we need to have a good old fashioned “come to yearbook” pow-wow. I’m thinking that Monday is going to be it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

