Cool Links #100: The One That Took A Century

I know it seems like I haven’t had a links post in a long time.  And that is because I haven’t.  I haven’t had a free Saturday since school started.  Every week has been a blur, football games, pep rallies, family events and more.  So, here are the much awaited links.

1 – I like the fact that the new Twitter web site design uses the Golden Ratio.

Golden Ratio

2 – This is just an absolutely incredible photo.  I am always telling my students that they have to find a new way to look at the same old thing.  And who hasn’t seen the space shuttle being pulled out to a launch?  But, have you seen it this way?

Space Shuttle New Way

Space Shuttle New Way

3 – This took a lot of guts.  The valedictorian of this school chose to criticize the quality of the education she received, even though nearly everyone would agree she got the very best.

4 – Here is a list of web sites all web designers should be looking into.

5 – My students were actually included on overheard in the newsroom.  “B-Roll is like a screen saver for your life.”

6 – This is just funny.

I Can Takez Photoz

I Can Takez Photoz

7 – Six reasons your travel (or anytime) photos suck.  Same reasons any of your photos suck.  From SFGate.

8 – Before and After Magazine – don’t enlarge things just to fill the space.

9 – How to speak during a broadcast without making breathing sounds.  Via Advancing The Story.

10 – Red and Blue are the most powerful colors on the web.  Great graphic from the Cool Infographics Blog.

11 – This is a funny front page.  Not sure if it is photoshop or real.

No News

No News

12 – How do people really watch the local news at home?  They don’t give it their full attention unless you give them a reason.  Thanks Bob Kaplitz.

13 – The city of Chicago gives citizen journalists the same right to credentials as professional journalists.  I say this is a win for Journalism.

14 – How To Open A Book from the Principal’s Page.  I think I’m going to put a copy of this with every new yearbook this year.

15 – This is really for much earlier in the year, but you can add it to your next year file – 15 Terms Every Yearbook Staffer Should Know.  Thanks Yearbook Blog.

16 – The Texas Tribune has a great audio piece about Why Everyone Can’t Go To College.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment